Following an urgent request by Ukrenergo and Moldova for emergency synchronisation, the TSOs of Continental Europe agreed to start on 16 March 2022 the trial synchronisation of the Continental European Power System with the power systems of Ukraine and Moldova. This acceleration of the synchronisation project ongoing since 2017 has been possible thanks to the previous studies carried out and the adoption of risks mitigation measures.

Continental Europe TSOs are now supporting the stability of the Ukrainian-Moldovan power system following a positive analysis which confirmed that an emergency synchronisation is technically feasible with a number of measures to ensure safe and secure power systems.

This is a significant milestone for the Continental Europe TSOs working in collaboration with Ukrenergo and Moldelectrica that are operating their respective power systems under extremely difficult circumstances. ENTSO-E would like to thank the European Commission, all TSOs involved and their national authorities for their support and assistance in the synchronisation process.



ENTSO-E, the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, is the association for the cooperation of the European transmission system operators (TSOs). The 39 member TSOs, representing 35 countries, are responsible for the secure and coordinated operation of Europe’s electricity system, the largest interconnected electrical grid in the world. In addition to its core, historical role in technical cooperation, ENTSO-E is also the common voice of TSOs.

About the Continental Europe Synchronous Area

The Continental Europe Synchronous Area (CESA) is the largest synchronous electrical grid (by connected power) in the world. The synchronised frequency is 50 Hz and the area supplies over 400 million customers in 24 countries, including most of the European Union. Transmission system operators (TSOs) in CESA have the responsibility to maintain the frequency at 50 Hz in order to ensure the stability of the system. This means energy resources and consumption always must be balanced across the synchronous area. The Continental Europe area gathers the following countries: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Denmark (West), France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo*, Luxemburg, Montenegro, Nederland, Poland, Portugal, Republic of North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Türkiye.

* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

ENTSO-E press release of 1 March

Media contact:

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the background to the emergency synchronisation with the Ukrainian-Moldovan power systems?

On 27 February and 28 February, Continental Europe TSOs have received a request from Ukrenergo (Ukrainian TSO) and Moldelectrica (Moldovan TSO) for an emergency synchronisation with the Continental Europe power system, which was supported by EU Energy Ministers. Continental Europe TSOs committed to respond positively to Ukrenergo’s request and started analysing the conditions for an emergency synchronisation while maintaining the safety of the Continental Europe power system. On 11 March, Continental Europe TSOs concluded that the conditions for an emergency synchronisation were met and completed the emergency synchronisation on 16 March. Throughout the process Continental Europe TSOs receive support from the European Commission, the Member States and Regulatory Authorities.

What is an emergency synchronisation?

The Project for the synchronisation of the Ukrainian-Moldovan power systems with the one of Continental Europe started in 2017.  The Project included a Catalogue of Measures to be completed before being able to proceed with the synchronisation. The emergency synchronisation allows for interconnection without all measures being completed but by ensuring additional mitigation measures to limit the operational risks. It will allow supporting Ukrenergo and Moldelectrica in maintaining the stability of the Ukrainian and Moldovan power systems.

In which areas have mitigation measures been foreseen?

Continental Europe TSOs identify certain risks related to Protection and Dynamic Stability, Operations and Markets, Legal and Regulatory, and Information Technology including Cybersecurity. Exceptional actions have been implemented with the support of concerned stakeholders and authorities. A comprehensive 24/7 monitoring of the situation is foreseen, and appropriate measures are also planned depending on the evolution of the situation in Ukraine.