On 12 July, the three transmission system operators (TSOs) for electricity, ESO (Bulgaria), IPTO (Greece) and Transelectrica (Romania), of the South-East Europe (SEE) Capacity Calculation Region (CCR) have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on the important steps to establishing a Regional Coordination Center (RCC).

The MoU on establishing a SEE RCC provides a framework for cooperation among the three Parties with a common goal to find a mutually acceptable solution for establishing a RCC based on the principle of most efficient, effective and timely fulfillment of the obligations set forth under the legal framework of the Third European Energy Package and the Clean Energy for All Europeans Package. The form of the legal entity, the liability and the location of the RCC shall be decided by the Parties.

The following milestones are agreed in the MoU:

• 4 August 2019: Assignment of the SEE Capacity calculator

• 15 September 2019: Signing the contractual arrangement for SEE Capacity calculator

• 1 November 2019: Decision on location of the RCC

• 15 December 2019: Signing the required documents for RCC incorporation

In particular, the Parties agree to prepare the operational characteristics considering that:

• ESO will provide Capacity Calculation services and will be temporarily nominated as Capacity Calculator for SEE CCR, until the RCC incorporation as a separate company and

• IPTO will provide the service of Coordinated Security Analysis for the SEE CCR temporarily until the RCC incorporation as a separate company.

The MoU on the SEE RCC supports the TSOs in their commitment to strengthen regional cooperation ensuring the security and efficiency of the power system for the benefit of society and consumers.