The four Transmission System Operators (TSOs) for electricity, ESO-EAD (Bulgaria), IPTO (Greece), Transelectrica (Romania) and Terna (Italy), of the South-East Europe (SEE) and Greece-Italy (GRIT) Capacity Calculation Regions (CCRs), have agreed to establish a Regional Security Coordinator (RSC) located in Thessaloniki, Greece.

The newly established RSC company will provide all regional services for both SEE and GRIT CCRs in accordance with the requirements of the Commission Regulations (EU) 2017/1485 of 2 August 2017 establishing a guideline on electricity transmission system operation (SO GL)) and 2015/1222 of 24 July 2015 establishing a guideline on capacity allocation and congestion management (CACM):

Coordinated capacity calculation

Development of the common grid model

Coordinated security analysis

Coordination of outage planning process

Short-term and mid-term adequacy forecasts

The RSC located in Thessaloniki will promote regional cooperation and support the strengthening of system and market operations in the region.

Further developments are expected to be announced during 2020.