The Platform for the International Coordination of Automated Frequency Restoration and Stable System Operation (PICASSO) originated as a regional project initiated by eight TSOs from five countries. The Austrian TSO APG, the Belgian TSO Elia, the Dutch TSO Tennet, the French TSO RTE and the German TSOs – 50Hertz, Amprion, Tennet, TransnetBW – agreed to initiate a project on the design, implementation and operation of a Platform for automatic Frequency Restoration Reserves (aFRR).

Since inception, the project has grown to include as members of the PICASSO project the following TSOs: the Czech TSO ČEPS, the Danish TSO Energinet, the Finish TSO Fingrid, the Hungarian TSO MAVIR, the Norwegian TSO Statnett, the Slovenian TSO ELES, the Spanish TSO Red Eléctrica de España and the Swedish TSO Svenska kraftnät.

TSOs that are currently PICASSO members or observers

As the COMMISSION REGULATION (EU) 2017/2195 of 23 November 2017 establishing a guideline on electricity balancing (EBGL) provides the introduction of platforms to enable the exchange of balancing energy from frequency restoration reserves and replacement reserves, TSOs took the voluntary initiative to anticipate the timelines set forth by the EBGL by already starting the work on the design of the aFRR platform to facilitate future European-wide discussions.

PICASSO has been endorsed as reference project for the aFRR platform by the ENTSO-E Market Committee.

Main targets of the project

The main targets of the project are:

  1. Design, implement and operate an aFRR Platform compliant with the approved versions of the EBGL, SOGL and CACM, as well as other regulations.

  2. Enhancing economic and technical efficiency within the limits of system security.

  3. Integrating the European aFRR markets while respecting the TSO-TSO model.


PICASSO welcomes other TSOs to apply for joining project as an observer. TSOs interested in joining the cooperation should contact the Chairman Benjamin Genêt Benjamin.Genet@elia.be.

There are currently 10 observers to the project: the Bulgarian TSO ESO, the Croatian TSO HOPS, the Greek TSO IPTO, the Italian TSO Terna, the Polish TSO PSE, the Portuguese TSO REN, the Romanian TSO Transelectrica, the Slovak TSO SEPS, the Swiss TSO Swissgrid and ENTSO-E (updated on 25 April 2018).

Press releases and updates