Test Header

Regional Groups

The System Operations Committee has 5 permanent regional groups based on the synchronous areas (Continental Europe, Nordic, Baltic, Great Britain, and Ireland-Northern Ireland), and 2 voluntary Regional Groups (Northern Europe and Isolated Systems).

Having a permanent character, these Regional Groups ensure compatibility between system operations on the one side and market solutions and system development issues on the other.



Regional Group


Participating Countries


Continental Europe Austria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Denmark (West), France, FYROM, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxemburg, Montenegro, Nederland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Switzerland
Nordic Denmark (East), Finland, Norway and Sweden
Baltic Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania
UK Great Britain
Ireland Ireland, Great Britain
The Regional Groups will continue the system operations activities of former TSO associations in Europe, addressing technical and operational aspects specific to the synchronously interconnected system operation.
  • Continental Europe - former UCTE
  • Nordic - former NORDEL
  • Baltic - former BALTSO
  • UK - former UKTSOA
  • Ireland -  former ATSOI